Posted by: Rutgers-Camden | June 14, 2010

Postcards from South Africa: Rutgers–Camden Blogs from the World Cup

 
 
 

Cal Maradonna is packed and ready to go to the World Cup.

Cal Maradonna (CCAS ’74, SBC ’79), manager of academic services for Rutgers at Atlantic Cape Community College, traveled with a group to South Africa, where he is experiencing the FIFA World Cup in person. Cal will blog about his experience while he is there and provide some insight and photographs. He wrote his first entry on Friday night, June 11, on the eve of his departure.

Well, I’m packed and ready to go. We leave South Jersey Saturday morning for JFK where we will fly non stop to Johannesburg South Africa. 15 hour flight. That, of course, is only the beginning. There are seven of us going, all connected through Rutgers. Tom DiValerio, Rutgers–Camden’s associate dean of students and an alum, is here with his three sons. Marc and David are alumni and Michael is a current student. Also traveling with us are Don Devlin (Deek), a longtime great friend, and of course Rutgers alum and our friend Kris Solt, manager of the Rutgers–Camden dining service.

I have traveled to South Africa every year since 1995 with a group of students, faculty and staff, but this trip feels so much different. Of course, I am always excited to bring a new group from Rutgers–Camden to experience the magic of South Africa and its people, but now I feel like I will be part of history and an incredible celebration.

South Africa has gone through so much and its population endured unbelievable conflict just 15 years ago. They have joined together and accomplished what most Americans would think impossible. I have seen the tremendous progress they have made to lift all of the population up, to create a unified nation and to maintain the beauty of one of the most beautiful countries I have ever experienced. And now they get to share it with the world. And we will be part of that historic event.

I will try my best to continue blogging adding comments from the rest of our travelers and some of our South African friends, including the Khan Brothers, Moe (MK) and Allie, our good friend Jeffrey in Cape Town, who is principal of Kalksteenfontein Primary School, and the famous Rutgers alum Edwin Smith and his wife Helen. We will also meet other South Africans and people from around the world and share their thoughts.

If you watch any of the games make sure you look for the guys in the scarlet shirts with the BIG BLOCK R. That’s us! Go USA!


Responses

  1. Calito and the gang, welcome home! We look forward to seeing you soon. By the way, I got myself in a pickle because I wore a US jersey to the US v England opening game with Helen wearing her English jersey. Well, we’re still married, notwithstanding. I think Helen likes Rutgers enough to understand that I cannot not support the US as I have so much to love over there besides Vuyi and Mbali being born there.

    One problem is my new Rutgers shirt, the one you brought when you were here with Wendell, looks more like an England jersey than a US one! Go figure!

    See you soon.

    Edwin

  2. PS: Cal it is the “World Cup” not the “Word Cup”. Word!

  3. Cal and Edwin,

    The story about Edwin’s shirt is funny! Hopefully you will be having a wonderful time at the games! My best to everyone!

    Carol


Leave a comment

Categories